Holy Grail Eyeliner for Half-Hidden Double Lids?

Woohoo, we’re back! Shawna here, I’ve missed writing on the blog so much!

Today I’m going to be sharing with you a new discovery I’ve found, the Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner.

IMG_0694

This eyeliner…where can I even start? I’m just really happy to have found something for me that works well! The price is around $20-25, which was a decent investment for me as a student. I’d known there were quite a few eyeliners that were gel or liquid formula that did not budge AT ALL, but I had yet to get my hands on one. Furthermore, I was determined to find one that could even tackle the constant creasing problem I have with my half-hidden double lids (I tend not to trust general product reviews nowadays because half hidden double lids have problems that are most likely exclusive to them, especially the buildup of oiliness in certain places).

I got mine at Shoppers Drug Mart, and the saleslady was mature with double eyelids, so I was a little bit iffy at first on buying it, especially for the price. It wasn’t until she did some swatches on her hand and showed me the staying power that I finally decided to take the risk. And it definitely paid off! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0698

The eyeliner comes in a practical black tube with a marker-tip applicator. It is easy to open without getting any eyeliner on you, and since it’s a marker you don’t have to worry about product buildup on the rims of the tube (or the cap if you’re careful enough).

IMG_0699

Above are some swatches I did. It took me a couple of tries (as I was already not that great at applying eyeliner even before I got this ^w^) to get the hang of using it on my eyes. As you can see, with enough accuracy you can bring it to a clean point, and when pressing the lines have clean edges. I find that with the harder you press and the smoother your stroke, the better the result with this eyeliner. It is a little bit harder with hidden half double lids, because you can’t blink too fast or else it will smudge, but once it’s dry it stays put.

IMG_0654

 

My eye without any liner, As you can see it folds halfway through the lid, making it half-monolid and half-double lid. Yes I am wearing contacts and I am wearing mascara. The mascara is Estee Lauder Sumptuous Extreme Mascara.

IMG_0679

 

My eye with liner. Ok so I was a little lazy and the point of the wing didn’t come out so clean, but you guys can see the smooth edges on the outer park of the lid. To apply this, I usually start with small lines VERY close to my lashes, moving along slowly for precision. Then I flip the tip so that the point is facing the outside of the eye and make the wing with a small stroke. I can then thicken up the wing if I want to or the line in general (because I know it’s not going to smudge later on! :)) The most important thing with this eyeliner is to be patient while applying and to WAIT until it’s dry before opening your eyes, otherwise it will crease and become a pain to fix.

If I do make a mistake, I generally fix it by taking a q tip full of makeup remover and smoothing it out, or if it’s a wing then erasing it and starting over. This eyeliner comes off easily with a soapy cleanser or makeup remover.

IMG_0675

 

This shot is of the other eye closed, the wing is better on this one.

IMG_0657

 

Without eyeliner….

IMG_0689

 

With! ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope this helped anyone looking for help with half-hidden double lids! I have some other products that I want to review, and will continue to post any of my nail looks on this blog so stay tuned! ๐Ÿ˜€

Style, sense and swag,

-Shawna ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

 

2 thoughts on “Holy Grail Eyeliner for Half-Hidden Double Lids?

Leave a Reply

